Guest Post/Virtual Tour ~ Mirror World by John Calicchia

guest-post

The Inspiration Behind Mirror World

The inspiration for this book came from the things that I love in life. I have always loved reading and writing young adult fiction and fantasy, I am also passionate about my work as a psychologist with young people, and since I have two daughters that I love dearly, I have always been disappointed with the lack of strong female heroines in literature and movies. Although this has changed a bit recently, not long ago it was difficult to find a female lead character especially in strong action roles.  So I wrote a YA book with strong female characters, and elements of psychology are embedded within!

My publishing experience is probably different from many authors who write fiction. I came from an academic background and have been publishing in the psychology field since the early 90s. However, I didn't feel that my academic books and journal articles were helping the young people I love to work with. So, I decided to write a teen and young adult fiction book that had famous concepts in psychology embedded in the characters and the plot; almost like a self-help book hidden within a fiction book! The book looks like other YA fiction novels, you would be hard-pressed to find the psychological elements in the book. But as you see the characters deal with self-image,  obedience, bullying, evil and racial conflict in fantasy –  you will actually be reading  what the science of psychology has shown to be helpful concerning these problems.There is also a user’s guide coming out soon to help the reader use the book effectively.

Although I have worked with traditional publishers, I decided to publish independently using my own imprint. With indie publishing you maintain much more control over the whole process, but you also have to do a lot more work, especially with the marketing and PR aspects of your publication. Using Create Space and KDP from Amazon was a wonderful experience. The editorial staff was top-notch and the platform is easy to use.

post-divider rightmirrorPublisher: Psychangel Books (August 27, 2015)
Genre: YA Fantasy
ISBN-10: 0986102008
ISBN-13: 978-0986102004
ASIN: B0153T57OG
Buy: Amazon, Kindle

mirror-world

What would you do if you saw the future apocalypse of the world in a mirror? Would you try to save the world and those you love, or die trying?

Welcome to my life, this is the vision of the future I’ve been cursed to see. – Cailyssa Larkin

When Cailyssa Larkin looks in a mirror she has an ominous feeling that someone is watching her. Stranger still, she has visions that foretell the future. While visiting her Uncle Spencer, Cailyssa gazes into a mirror and sees a dark future that only she can change. With the future of her own world hanging in the balance, Cailyssa bravely enters the portal to the Mirror World. Here, the Dark Lord controls all the mirrors and bends reflections so all creatures see evil within themselves. With her sister Terry, her mysterious best friend Daemon, and a host of weird and wonderful creatures, Cailyssa embarks on an epic quest to overcome the evil forces trying to destroy her world. She can only defeat the Dark Lord by finding her true self and discovering the family secret that has led her to Mirror World.

This book, written by a psychology professor, integrates famous psychological studies in the story. Readers will enjoy learning important life lessons through the psychological concepts illustrated in the book.

post-divider left

John-CalicchiaI’m John Calicchia and I write stories of fantasy, action and adventure. In the fall of 2015 my book Mirror World was released! It’s a story of two powerful young sisters and their epic battle against evil. But, this book has something in it most do not: hidden secrets. It’s a teen and young adult fiction book with a self-help book hidden inside. You see… after publishing in psychology books and journals for decades I felt my writing was not helping the young people I love to work with. So, I took famous psychology studies and put it in the characters and plot in Mirror World. As you become part of the story you can learn about psychology or you can just enjoy the story! You can also get a free copy of the users guide to help you understand the psychology behind the book by joining my website www.johncalicchia.com

John Calicchia Ph.D. is a professor of psychology who also works with children and young adults as a licensed psychologist. He lives near Boston with his lovely wife and two amazing daughters. You can usually find him in the pool swimming with his two big dogs.

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Goodreads

post-divider rightJohn Calicchia is giving away 2 $25 Amazon Gift Cards!

Terms & Conditions:

By entering the giveaway, you are confirming you are at least 18 years old.

Two winners will be chosen via Rafflecopter to receive one $25 Amazon Gift Certificate

This giveaway begins January 4 and ends March 31.

Winners will be contacted via email on February 1.

Winners have 48 hours to reply.

Good luck everyone!

ENTER TO WIN!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

post-divider left

Tour Schedule

Monday, January 4 – First Chapter Reveal & Tour Kick Off at Pump Up Your Book

Tuesday, January 5 – Book Feature at The Writer’s Life

Thursday, January 7 – Guest Blogging at The Story Behind the Book

Friday, January 8 – Interview at The Children’s and Teens’ Book Connection

———-

Monday, January 11 – Interview at C.A. Milson’s Blog

Tuesday, January 12 – Book Feature at I’m Shelf-ish

Thursday, January 14 – Interview at The Dark Phantom

———-

Monday, January 18 – Book Feature at CBY Book Club

Wednesday, January 20 – Book Feature at My Bookish Pleasures

Thursday, January 21 – Guest Blogging at Confessions of an Eccentric Bookaholic

———-

Monday, January 25 – Interview at Examiner

Tuesday, January 26 – Book Feature at Bound 2 Escape

Thursday, January 28 – Book Review at Don’t Judge Read

Friday, January 29 – Book Review at 3 Partners in Shopping

———-

Monday, February 1 – Interview at The Writer’s Life

Tuesday, February 2 – First Chapter Reveal at Write and Take Flight

Wednesday, February 3 – Interview at I’m Shelf-ish

Thursday, February 4 – Book Review at Emeraldfire’s Bookmark

Friday, February 5 – Book Feature at Archaeolibrarian – I Dig Good Books!

———-

Monday, February 8 – Interview at The Book Rack

Tuesday, February 9 – Interview at C.A. Milson’s Blog

Wednesday, February 10 – Interview at As the Pages Turn

Thursday, February 11 – Book Feature at Jody’s Book Reviews

———-

Monday, February 15 – Book Review at Ashley’s Bookshelf

Tuesday, January1 6 – Character Interview at Pimp That Character!

Thursday, February 18 – First Chapter Reveal at Beyond the Books

———-

Monday, February 22 – Interview at Literarily Speaking

Tuesday, February 23 – Book Review at Laura’s Interests

Wednesday, February 24 – Guest Blogging at Lori’s Reading Corner

Friday, February 25 – Book Review at Deal Sharing Aunt

———-

Tuesday, March 1 – Interview at PUYB Virtual Book Club

Thursday, March 3 – Book Review at Kay’s Krazy Obsession

Friday, March 4 – Book Feature at Around the World in Books

———

Monday, March 7 – Interview at SheWrites

Tuesday, March 8 – Book Review at Mary’s Cup of Tea

Wednesday, March 9 – Book Review at Confessions of the Perfect Mom

Thursday, March 10 – First Chapter Reveal at Read My First Chapter

———-

Monday, March 14 – Book Review at Ashley’s Bookshelf

Tuesday, March 15 – Book Review at Book Babble

Thursday, March 17 – Book Review at Ali – The Dragon Slayer

———–

Monday, March 21 – Book Feature at The Literary Nook

Tuesday, March 22 – Book Review at Wonderland Novels

Thursday, March 24 – Book Feature at Literal Exposure

———–

Monday, March 28 – First Chapter Reveal at As the Pages Turn

Thursday, March 31 – Book Review at Pink Fluffy Hearts: Diary of a Coffee Addict

 

Mirror-World-banner1

 

 

 

Facebook Twitter Email Linkedin Reddit Tumblr Digg Stumbleupon Delicious Pinterest

Comments

  1. The story sounds very intriguing.

  2. Sounds like an interesting read.  Not my normal genre, but would like to read.

Speak Your Mind

*

CommentLuv badge

Social links powered by Ecreative Internet Marketing