Book Blast ~ Mystery At Manatee Key by Nancy Stewart

Publisher: Guardian Angel Publishing (March 15, 2016)
Genre: Children's Picture Book
ISBN-10: 1616337427
ISBN-13: 978-1616337421
ASIN: B01N763VC8
Buy: Amazon, Kindle, IndieBound, The Book Depository

mystery-at-manatee-key

Bella and Britt love to explore along the beach and at more remote places like Manatee Key as well. It is there that they discover a manatee smuggling ring.

The manatees have already been netted, so the girls must act fast! But a kidnapper snatches Bella, hustling her into their hideout. When Britt sneaks a look in the window, she discovers that the ranger is being held, too. Now it’s up to Britt. But what can a single girl do?

Nancy has been an elementary school teacher and a professor of education.  Having lived in London for ten years, she was a consultant to the University of Cambridge. She is the author of the Bella and Britt series picture books and the authorized biography of Katrina Simpkins, a young girl whose life was forever changed by Winter, the dolphin (Guardian Angel Publishing.)  Her writing of One Pelican at a Time was featured on the PBS special, GulfWatch in 2011.  Nancy’s YA-LGBT novel will be published by Interlude Press autumn of 2017.  She is a member of the Rate Your Story organization as a critique judge.

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Goodreads

Excerpt ~

A dark animal circled slowly in the shallow water of Manatee Key. Walking closer, Bella whispered. “A baby manatee. And it has a patch of white near its snout.” Britt frowned. “But where’s the mother? It must be hungry. We should tell the ranger.”

“Yeah,” Bella said. “This one’s too young to be without her mom. Let’s go.”

The friends worked their way through the jungle-like brush back to their bicycles. Britt took the lead. “It’s really hot, but we gotta make time.” 

After a twenty minute ride down dusty paths leading to the main road in their coastal town, they reached the ranger station. “It’s quiet in here today,” Bella said.

 The ranger’s assistant glanced up from his reading. “Hi, girls. Can I help you?”

“We need to see the ranger and report an orphaned manatee,” Bella said.

He frowned. “She hasn’t come in today, and that’s not like her. I’ve called her phones. Nobody answered. And no one’s seen her. Have you by any chance?”

“No,” they answered at the same time.

 “Well, it’s a mystery,” he said. “I won’t call the police yet. But I’m getting worried. Now, about that manatee. Can you take me to it?”

 “Sure,” Britt said. “If you can bring us back to town. We rode our bikes here.” He nodded. “Of course.”

Tour Schedule

Monday, April 3

Over the Rainbow Book Reviews

Tuesday, April 4

Books, Dreams, Life

Wednesday, April 5

100 Pages A Day

Thursday, April 6

Cafinated Reads

Friday, April 7

Mina’s Bookshelf

********

Monday, April 10

That’s What She’s Reading

Tuesday, April 11

fuonlyknew

Book Bloggin’ Princess

Wednesday, April 12

The Cheshire Cat’s Looking Glass

Thursday, April 13

Lisa – Queen of Random

Friday, April 14

Books, Reviews, ETC.

********

Monday, April 17

Confessions of an Eccentric Bookaholic

Tuesday, April 18

The Writer’s Life

T’s Stuff

Wednesday, April 19

Book Babble

Thursday, April 20

Just Us Book Blog

Friday, April 21

CelticLady’s Reviews

Lori’s Reading Corner

*******

Monday, April 24

Read Day and Night

Tuesday, April 25

Bound 2 Escape

Wednesday, April 26

CBY Book Club

Thursday, April 27

This Mom’s Books Reviews

Friday, April 28

The Blended Blog

 

 

 

 

 

Facebook Twitter Email Linkedin Reddit Tumblr Digg Stumbleupon Delicious Pinterest

Comments

  1. What a cute book!  Reminds me of a veggie tales silly song.  I'm sure my son would enjoy reading this.  

Speak Your Mind

*

CommentLuv badge

Social links powered by Ecreative Internet Marketing